Menu Close

The United Nations in Trinidad and Tobago

The United Nations has supported the people and the Government of Trinidad and Tobago for more than 50 years. Over that period, the United Nations has offered development assistance, ensuring that no one is left behind as outlined in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, and striving towards achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Currently there are eighteen (18) UN agencies serving Trinidad and Tobago:

  • The United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)
  • United Nations Regional Centre for Peace, Disarmament and Development in Latin America and the Caribbean (UNLIREC)
  • The United Nations Information Center for the Caribbean (UNIC)
  • The Food and Agricultural Organization for the United Nations (FAO)
  • The International Labour Organization (ILO)
  • The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
  • The United Nations Women Caribbean (UN Women)
  • The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
  • The United Nations Environment Program (UNEP)
  • The Pan American Health Organization/ World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO)
  • The Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)
  • The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
  • The United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR)
  • The International Organization for Migration (IOM)
  • The United Nations Aids Caribbean (UN AIDS)
  • International Maritime Organisation (IMO )
  • UN Department of Safety and Security (UNDSS)
  • World Food Programme (WFP)